Looking Away

Lyrics
If we shall be known by the things that we choose
What shall we know now that I’ve chosen you?
Am I strong or defenseless, humble or proud?
Should I answer myself or just answer out loud?
And how did you come to be lost in this crowd?

I opened the door with a scream
You come runnin’ down
By then there was nothing to see
Just what was expected of me?
I’m just a man
One hand in the city, the other stretched out toward the ground

I’m playing your heartstrings like 4, 5, 6, 7
Like dorm room guitarists play Stairway to Heaven:
So loudly and proudly, with feeling, but never quite right
I’m fucking us up by delaying the mention
I see it unfolding like a friend’s intervention
There’s yelling and screaming and crying, but never in spite

Tell me I’m wrong
Tell me I’m right to keep all of these ghosts in the corner at bay
Tell me I’m wrong
Tell me I’m right to keep all of these ghosts in the corner at bay

There is no room for the weak underneath all these banners we’ve raised
I spent the week going over and over the things I could say
Even the seasons come wrapped in the guise of a cold cabaret
There is no reason for all of your pleas to be seen ending up with me looking away

Looking away

Leave a Reply

